Commission approval is required for the location, siting and exterior design of all federal buildings in the region, or for alterations to existing structures.

National Gallery of Canada.—The National Gallery of Canada was founded in 1880. By Act of Parliament in 1913 and re-enacted in 1951 it was placed under the management of a Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor General in Council and now operates under the National Gallery Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 186). It is responsible to Parliament through a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration).

The first charge of the National Gallery is the development and care of the national art collections. Other important services are the arrangement of loans and exhibitions from abroad and from its own holdings for showing in Canada and abroad, the promotion of good industrial design and general extension work consisting of the distribution of reproductions for educational purposes, lectures, educational tours, publications, school broadcasts and art films.

National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at Halifax, Saint John, Chicoutimi, Quebec, Trois Rivières, Montreal, Vancouver and Churchill, the Jacques Cartier and Champlain bridges at Montreal Harbour, and the Government grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The Board is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Research Council.—In 1917 the Research Council Act was passed and in 1928 laboratories for scientific research were established at Ottawa. The National Research Council now has Divisions of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Building Research, Mechanical Engineering, Radio and Electrical Engineering, Pure and Applied Physics, Applied Biology and Medical Research. Regional laboratories have been established at Saskatoon, Sask., and Halifax, N.S.

Patentable processes and improvements developed by the Council are made available under licence to industry through a Crown company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, and any profits from the licensing arrangements are used for further research and development.

The Minister of Trade and Commerce as Chairman of the Privy Council Committee on Scientific and Industrial Research is responsible to Parliament for the National Research Council.

Northern Canada Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 to bring electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. The Act was amended in 1950 to give authority to the Commission to provide similar services in Yukon Territory; the name of the Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was changed in 1956. The Commission is composed of a Chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council. It operates hydro-electric plants on the Snare River in the Northwest Territories and on the Mayo River in Yukon Territory and diesel-electric plants at Fort Smith and Fort Simpson, N.W.T. Additional plants are under construction at Whitehorse, Yukon and Inuvik, N.W.T. The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources reports to Parliament for the Commission.

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation.—This Corporation was established by the Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation Act (S.C. 1956, c. 10) for the purpose of constructing the northern Ontario section of the all-Canadian natural gas pipeline and of leasing, with an option to purchase, this section to Trans-Canada Pipe Lines Limited. In addition, the Corporation was authorized to make short-term loans to Trans-Canada Pipe Lines Limited for the construction of the western section of the pipeline. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Pipeline installation on the northern Ontario section, which extends from the Manitoba-Ontario border to the vicinity of Kapuskasing, Ont., was completed on Oct. 22, 1958.

Park Steamship Company Limited.—After World War II this Company acted as an agent for Crown Assets Disposal Corporation in the sale and delivery to purchasers of Government warbuilt ships. This work is completed but the Company remains available to carry out any appropriate duties. It has no staff of its own, any necessary work being done by the staff of the Canadian Maritime Commission (see p. 107). The Company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Polymer Corporation Limited.—This Corporation was established in 1942 by Letters Patent under the Companies Act and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 133) and the Financial Administration Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 116). It was set up to construct